As I entered my blogging era, I pondered when and how the spark was ignited. I knew that my passion to write musings and things was always there, peeking in the recesses of my mind.

From time to time, that passion would come out, and I would create featured content for hot topics currently trending in the country or compose poems about people that left an impact on me. But my desire to write was inconsistent, only spurred by intense emotions. Though currently, those emotions are surging with overflowing ideas after being suppressed by sporadic bursts.

Anyhow, as I perused my memories, I pinpointed that it all started in third year high school, A.Y. 2010-2011.

One of my friends from class, Dianne, had been accepted in the school newspaper as one of the feature writers, and at one time, she asked me to read her draft for my thoughts before submitting it.

Despite forgetting what I had read, I could still remember the feeling of being deeply engaged in the narrative – as if it had a soul of its own and was directly speaking to mine. It was such a treat that I began requesting for all her drafts to read afterwards.

Before long, it wasn’t only Dianne’s drafts I was reading, but the opinion page at inquirer.net as well. I was fourteen and quite entertained by editorial pieces and opinion columns published on the official website of the Philippine Daily Inquirer. There was no doubt that my nerdiness extended beyond classrooms.

The fourteen-year-old me also wanted to write something like those. I had imagined it, although I was never really that good in English to begin with. It was unlike math, which came so naturally to me. The contrasting dynamics of those two subjects, I believed.

Still, I read and read, and I read some more. Even after securing a sports news writer position in senior year, yet not knowing any sport aside from chess, but as I’ve been told, on the surprising skill I’ve shown on writing engaging storytelling, I continued to read featured articles and editorial pieces and opinion columns. And of course, as needed, sports news.

It was after graduating high school, in summer of 2012, that I turned to fiction and also developed a wishful thinking to write something similar. Maybe I will too, if I continue to read and read, and read some more.

This is when I got hit by the sudden realization, that Dianne had pulled a thread from the fabric of my existence, and I tugged it back, expanding the thread and weaving it into a web of literature.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started